## **JANUARY 3**

2024

Prior to the Special Council meeting, there was a swearing-in ceremony for new members of Council and Administration.

Judge James T. Walther was present to perform the honors. Present along with Judge Walthers was his wife, and many friends and family of those being sworn in, including Representative Joseph Miller.

Judge Walthers swore each person individually:

Auditor Brenda Phillips, Council Ward One Brian Dembinski, Council Ward Two Becky Harmych, Council Ward Three Jake Wachholz, Council Ward Four Matt Nahorn. Mayor Costilow and Law Director Pecora were sworn in prior to this meeting. This ceremony was followed by a Special Council Meeting.

## Special Council Meeting

Amherst City Council was brought to order in a Special Session with President Wasilk opening the meeting at 7:15 P. M. Also present in the Council Chambers were Mr. Dembinski, Ms. Harmych, Mr. Wachholz, Mr. Nahorn, Mr. Janik, Mr. Heberling, Mr. Winiarski, Mayor Costilow, Auditor Phillips, Law Director Pecora, Safety/Service Director Jeffreys, Treasurer Ramsey, Assistant Law Director Ward. Mr. Winiarski was absent and had a letter on file. Mr. Dembinski motioned to excuse Mr. Winiarski as he had a letter on file. Seconded by Mr. Wachholz. Voice vote 6-0 to excuse Mr. Winiarski. Also present were Judge James Walthers as well as his wife, Representative Joe Miller, many friends and relatives of the newly sworn in council members.

The Prayer was invoked by: Chaplain Janik followed by the Pledge to the Flag led by Sergeant at Arms Dembinski.

Appointment of Clerk of Council – Mr. Nahorn motioned to appoint Olga Sivinski as Clerk of Council. Seconded by Mr. Heberling. Roll call vote 6-0 to appoint Mrs. Sivinski as Clerk of Council. Mrs. Sivinski was sworn in at this time by Judge Walters. Judge Walthers took his leave at this time.

Adoption of Council Rules – Mr. Dembinski motioned to adopt the standing rules of Council. Seconded by Mr. Nahorn. Roll call vote 6-0 to adopt the standing rules of Council.

Appointment of President Pro-tem of Council – Mr. Dembinski nominated Mr. Dave Janik to take the position of President Pro-tem of Council. Seconded by Mr. Wachholz. Roll call vote 6-0 for Mr. Janik to take the position of President Pro-tem.

Assignment of Chairs and Vice Chairs of Council Committees – Mrs. Wasilk read off the names of the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Council Committees.

Miscellaneous and Acknowledgement of the Public: Mr. Dembinski motioned to cancel the Council Meeting for 1/8/24. Seconded by Mr. Nahorn. Voice vote 6-0 to cancel the 1/8/24 meeting. Committee Meetings will be held on Tuesday, 1/16/24.

There was no one else speaking.

Mr. Heberling moved to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Mr. Dembinski. Voice vote 6-0 to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 7:24 p.m.

Olga Sivinski, Clerk of Council	Jennifer Wasilk, President of Council