COUNCIL PRESIDENT-JENNIFER WASILK COUNCIL AT LARGE-DAVID JANIK COUNCIL AT LARGE-MARTIN HEBERLING COUNCIL AT LARGE- CHUCK WINIARSKI COUNCIL WARD ONE-BRIAN DEMBINSKI COUNCIL WARD TWO-ED COWGER COUNCIL WARD THREE-JAKE WACHHOLZ COUNCIL WARD FOUR-STEPHANIE SMITH

CITY OF AMHERST, OHIO

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF COUNCIL (440) 988-2420 (440) 988-2570 fax OLGA SIVINSKI 206 SOUTH MAIN STREET AMHERST, OH 44001 council@amherstohio.org

THIS MEETING WAS HELD IN HYBRID FORM (Council members and visitors in Chambers and all others REMOTELY VIA ZOOM

Minutes of the Community Development Committees Meeting held May 15, 2023 at 7:20 P.M. Present in Council Chambers were Chair Wachholz, Mr. Dembinski, Mr. Heberling, Mr. Cowger, Mr. Janik, Mr. Winiarski, Ms. Smith, Council President Wasilk, and Mayor Costilow. Present via ZOOM were Auditor Pittak, Assistant Law Director Ward, Treasurer Ramsey, Safety Service Director Jeffreys, Law Director Pecora.

A-23-29 Resolution recognizing small business owners within the Historic Downtown area of the City of Amherst that have operated and supported our community for over 25 years; emergency

> Mr. Janik pointed out that May is Small Business Month. Main Street Director Mrs. Gilles had brought to his attention that we have several business owners within the historic downtown area that have been in the business or the names has, for 25 years or more. Recognizing this as a huge accomplishment in the small business owner realm, he found it fitting to develop a resolution to honor those individuals. He does not want to downplay any of the other businesses in Amherst, but right now would just like to recognize those in the historic area. They are in the process of verifying the comprehensive list. He would like to have this on the floor of council on 6/12. There was a discussion on providing certificates vs. plaques.

> Mr. Dembinski motioned to take this to the floor of Council with the emergency. Seconded by Ms. Smith. Voice vote 7-0 to send to the floor of council.

Mr. Heberling motioned to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Cowger. Voice vote 7-0 to adjourn.

The meeting adjourned at 7:22 P. M.

Jake Wachholz, Chairman Community Development Committee