Jennifer Scott-Wasilk
Amherst, Ohio City Council

Whereas, on March 9, 2020, Executive Order 2020-01D Declaring a State of Emergency was issued by Ohio Governor Mike DeWine in response to the confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Ohio; and

Whereas, on March 16, 2020, Lorain County Health has confirmed three cases of COVID-19 in Lorain County; and

Whereas, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has recommended that close contact, suggested to be six feet or less, be avoided; and

Whereas, the Regular, Special, and Committee Meetings of the Amherst City Council are both broadcast live and posted online for later viewing; and

Whereas, the City of Amherst intends to comply with the recommendations of the State of Ohio and the United States federal agencies; and

Whereas, Amherst Codified Ordinance 121.04(10) requires that the presiding officer “preserve order and decorum”;


The conduct of Regular, Special and Committee meetings of Amherst City Council will be as follows until such time as the Governor of Ohio lifts the State of Emergency:

  1. Attendance at Regular, Special and Committee Meetings shall be limited to only those individuals who are required for consideration and review of the legislation on the current Agenda. In general, this means that those in attendance will be the seven members of council for the Committee Meetings, and, additionally for the Regular and Special Meetings, the Clerk of Council and the President of Council.
  2. Members of the Administration, the city staff or the general public who are deemed necessary for the consideration and review of a particular legislative question shall be admitted to the Council Chamber for that period of time that the legislative question is being considered by council or its committee.
  3. Legislative questions (also known as Agenda Items) should be limited to only those deemed necessary for the safe operation of the city.


Jennifer Wasilk, President, Amherst, Ohio City Council                                     17 March 2020